Monday - Saturday
Lunch12 - 2.30
Dinner6 - 9
Lunch12 - 3.30
Supper Club6 - 8
Reservations01491 872 829


Mary & Nick openly seek and request customer feedback. Comment cards are available on the tables in the restaurants and you’ll also find some on the bar. If you follow us on Facebook you can also review us there. Or if you are collecting contributor badges you can also review us on TripAdvisor where we have a hotel page and a restaurant page.

Here we’ve gathered a selection of some of our favourite comments from across all of our feedback sources. They come  from customers who have visited us since we opened The Miller in 2014 up to the present day.

Customer comment cardComment cards 

“Service was impeccable, staff friendly, exceeded all expectations”.  M Elliott

“Incredible, stunning, perfection“. A Wise

Superb! First time here but not last“. Ian

“Good work, keep it up”. C Bedgood

Thanks again, you have a fantastic team and the Miller is lovely – though selfishly I am kind of hoping the secret doesn’t get out so we can still book a room! Am sure it’s going to just get even more successful.” Tamsin

A Michelin Star is on its way. The food was simply amazing – a chef that is a true artist and a staff team who compliment it perfectly. Thank you for such a wonderful meal.” Mr. S Cully, 5 of 5 stars6 December 2014

“It’s a lovely little hotel with very lovely staff who where very helpful. And the breakfast was really nice.” Siobhan, Oxon, 13th May 2014

“The staff were courteous and went an extra mile for us!” James, Olympia, 14th May 2014

TripAdvisor certificate of excellence 2016

Some TripAdvisor restaurant reviews

Exquisite food and friendly service. I love the food here. It’s experimental, it’s divine and you can tell every care and attention to detail goes into its creation. It’s of a fine dining quality but it’s in the village pub. But it also reminds you that going out for dinner should be a treat and a foodie experience…” September 2016

Superb tasting menu night. Great value at £25 a head which includes a huge cafetiere of really good coffee with homemade macaroons. Delicious courses that we would never be able to create ourselves. Lovely relaxed dining with friendly and attentive service.” September 2016

Great food, good serviceThe Chef is very innovative with his/her creations – the usage of local ingredients is also lovely to see. The pistachio eggy bread was delicious and the yuzu curd the nicest addition.” August 2016

The highest quality – a real treat! The menu is changed often with the freshest ingredients. The food is simply amazing. One of the best I have eaten in hotels. The atmosphere is lovely.” July 2016

A quick pint. Just stopped in here for a quick drink after a walk next to the river. The service was good and they had a good selection of beer.” July 2016

Excellent nine course tasting menu with accompanying wine flight. Excellent nine course tasting menu with accompanying wine flight….delicious. Friendly attentive service and personalised ‘Happy Birthday’ plate of petit fours for the birthday boy.” July 2016

A taste sensation… We decided to try the 9 course tasting menu. And boy we were glad we skipped lunch! It was beautifully presented, amazing wait staff, nice setting, and just delicious.. All 9 courses of it! We ate for 4 hours!! haha! We were never rushed, nothing was too much and it was a delight.” June 2016

Fine dining, at a price. This was our first visit since the pub changed hands and it was thoroughly enjoyable. The food is the star here. The emphasis is on using fresh, seasonal ingredients and of confecting them into sophisticated, elegantly crafted dishes. My crab cannelloni starter was a case in point, offering vibrant flavours and complex textures. For mains we both opted for fish, beautifully cooked and served in a rich broth. The smoked cod was particularly good, giving the fish a complex, savoury quality. Portions are dainty so we had room for an indulgent dessert, rhubarb and tarragon or an intense chocolate mousse.
This is probably a gastro pub to visit either on a weekday, when the set menus look good value, or for a special occasion, as the prices match the quality. Our meal, with wine and tip came to a not inconsiderable £130, which puts the Miller up against some seriously good local restaurants, like the Woodspeen where we ate a few months ago. While the food bears comparison, the wine list currently doesn’t, as it’s a bit generic and unadventurous at the affordable end. As we run into the summer, it also needs a wider choice of good pinks to complement the food.” May 2016

Delicious and delightful. This is our second visit to the Miller and I have to say the food was an absolute delight once again. Imaginative, delicious and sensational. You can see the time and effort put in to every dish. Not your usual pub food if that’s what you are after. Interesting twists to the norm. Excellent choices on the children’s menu. Staff were very attentive.” April 2016

So good, even the locals love it! For me, this is the place to eat out in Goring. The food is divine, the service is attentive and it’s within walking distance from home! Sunday super club for locals is lovely. Nick and Mary run a tight ship. The food itself is high quality, fresh ingredients and inventive menu keeps us coming back! If you’re looking for a traditional pub I’d suggest the Catherine Wheel instead, although the bar area of the Miller is very busy. Visited December 2016.” March 2016

Sunday lunch. Very good lunch today. Nice high quality menu.I had the pigeon starter followed by the beef and Yorkshire pudding. My partner had the vegetarian courses which were excellent. Our friends the cod starter and the pork belly. All great. I finished of with the baked apple. The others had the cheese. This all served with very good reasonably priced wines. We will all go again.” February 2016

Truly wonderfulWe had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Miller of Mansfield , our suite was tastefully decorated with a fabulously big and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and had a monsoon shower as well as a hand held one and the towels were lovely and fluffy. No noise from anywhere so a great nights sleep. The food! Well everything from the home churned butter to the homemade brown sauce( yummy!) to the cannon of lamb, cod cheeks, halibut , ling…you get the idea was absolutely outstanding. The service was second to none , all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Well done everyone, we will certainly be back!” November 2015

Some TripAdvisor hotel reviews

Superstar discovered in Goring. Very enjoyable stay at the Miller of Mansfield.Nick and his wife Mary are the co-owners and while Nick concentrates on producing excellent quality food,beautifully presented and good value,front of house and every other bit of the house is organised by Mary. Expect a warm and friendly welcome,a nothing too much trouble attitude and wonderful attention to detail.The rooms in the 18th century building are quirky but very well thought out. Mary,take a bow. The best hotelier we have come across in a long time” September 2016

Lovely. We stayed recently at the Miller to attend a wedding, lovely hotel, staff very pleasant, comfortable room.
We wish had stayed longer so that we could sample dinner, the menu looked good.
Would definitely stay again.” August 2016

Great little B&B. I’ve stayed here for work purposes this week. I would normally stay in large corporate hotel however they were fully booked so my PA booked me here instead. Wow what a great little find! It takes you away from the work environment and shoots you into holiday mode. The pub is great with lovely atmosphere and great drinks on offer. I didn’t have diner as we went to the local curry house but the breakfast was delicious with a full range of cereals, and hot and cold food. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quite contemporary in style.
At £90 a night B&B you simply can’t complain. Fabulous evening with lots to be entertained with in the evening. I took to the river Thames in a canoe with friends ! Great work stay to take you away from the corporate life for an evening
Highly recommend to businesses in the local area, I will be using it again.” August 2016

furnishing fabulous fare. We stayed one night and sampled their sensational food.
The service was professional and courteous, yet also friendly and helpful.
We had a very comfortable bed. The accommodation was quirky, adapted to the old building, in a lovely village setting.” August 2016

Perfect base for a weekend wedding. The hotel was really wonderful – delicious breakfast and evening meal, friendly and helpful staff and lots of special touches which make the difference. They were particularly kind in returning my son’s favourite toy!” July 2016

Great weekend away. We meat for a family birthday. The rooms were clean quiet and comfy and the food was excellent. Each plate of food was classy very tasty and not too big so we all could enjoy starter main and pudding Staff were help full and friendly We all thought it was excellent value for money” June 2016

Wonderful find. We ended up staying here following a issue with a booking made at a nearby hotel. And thank god we did, it is a stunning venue – our room was fabulous, lovely decoration and was delighted to have inadvertently stayed here! Staff were particularly friendly and accommodating – will definitely return. Unfortunately we didn’t have an evening meal here but thoroughly enjoyed a cooked breakfast which was obviously locally sourced produced. Massive thank you to the staff for accommodating us as such late notice!” June 2016

Lovely one night getaway. Very nice place for a quick getaway. Located in a very nice area. We stayed in a superior room which was perfect. We had everything we needed in the room and extras. It was a little noisey from other residents above us. The food was fabulous good selection, great flavours and presented well. There was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in bar and restaurant everyone was very welcoming and friendly. Had the weather of been better there was a lovely beer garden. We will definitely be going back.” May 2016

Hiking the Ridgeway Trail and Stayed One Night… ….And what a great visit it was. This is a beautiful place— the building is lovely and the staff is friendly and professional. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We had lots of room and everything we needed. But our meals at Miller of Mansfield were truly memorable. It was really good food, beautifully presented. We are glad we stopped for the night and recommend it to you.” May 2016

Perfect place to stay and amazing staff. We recently stayed at the Miller when actually attending a Burns Night event at another Pub in the village. We had a delightful and very spacious twin room. Fabulously decorated, with an equally spacious bathroom decked out with REN products. From the moment we walked through the door the staff made us feel exceptionally welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately we were eating elsewhere that night as if the breakfast is anything to go by the food at dinner would have been fantastic. Lots of locally sourced and home made goods to pick from at breakfast. This trip was so good we have already booked to return in the summer and it is likely we shall extend that stay by an additional night just so we can sample the food in the restaurant.” January 2016

Truly wonderfulWe had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Miller of Mansfield , our suite was tastefully decorated with a fabulously big and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and had a monsoon shower as well as a hand held one and the towels were lovely and fluffy. No noise from anywhere so a great nights sleep. The food! Well everything from the home churned butter to the homemade brown sauce( yummy!) to the cannon of lamb, cod cheeks, halibut , ling…you get the idea was absolutely outstanding. The service was second to none , all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Well done everyone, we will certainly be back!” November 2015

Customer feedback emails

Dear Nick & kitchen brigade, and Dear Mary (off this eve, but professional presence evident even in absence!) & front of house team. Thanks for a superb evening!
I’ve had the good fortune to eat out a lot over the years on both sides of
the Atlantic and further afield. As I’d stated to Nick before leaving, even if I’d had to content myself only with simply the grains within your beer and wonderful warm bread, I’d have been happy. I can understand entirely why you’ve won so many accolades already and am thankful you are a short & easy train journey from Oxford so I can finally
enjoy both your marvellous food and alcohol anytime!
Wishing you every continued success.”
D Morton, September 2016

Dear Nick and Mary,
We had a very nice lunch with you last Saturday, the person in charge Matt, was so helpful and kind and rejigged our table for 9 so that we could bring our little dog in.  I hadn’t realised it was near impossible to park close to you. Your friend Stephanie from the Beetle and Wedge recommended us to you. You were pretty busy but Matt pulled out all the stops and so calmly rearranged 4 tables together So we were able to talk to everyone and have a lovely family  birthday lunch. Please will you thank him from me, by the time we left, I believe he had gone. We shall certainly come back for another meal with you.”
S. Pease, September 2016

The marvellous miller! Arranging to stay at a place that has just undergone a change of ownership and a major refurbishment always has the potential for disaster! Add to that arranging a visit on the very first day of opening and you can imagine we had slight reservations about the plan. However, we were meeting the very best of friends there and so we knew the company would be great even if everything else went wrong!

On arrival it was clear that things weren’t quite ready, but it turned out to be purely cosmetic. We were greeted warmly and the wine was chilled and the Peroni was ready – all good! Our bedrooms were amazing – travelling with children usually means a z-bed squeezed into your room and a disrupted nights sleep. Not here! We both had rooms with separate but adjoining rooms where the children could sleep on proper beds. Our room, in the eaves, was beautiful, a bit quirky (clear plastic dressing table and chair!) and wonderfully clean. The bed was big and comfortable and the view over the rooftops of Goring was lovely.

So to dinner and the big question as to whether the restaurant was ready!? We needn’t have worried. The menu was great and had lots of choice without being overwhelming. Between the four of us we tried most of the menu. We loved the sack of bread! I had fish and chips with perfectly minted peas and the best tartare sauce I have ever tasted! Pudding was an enormous rhubarb sundae – which wasn’t so big that I didn’t finish it! However, my personal favourite was the starter of cauliflower lasagne, which was beautifully flavoured with cumin and which I could happily eat all day! The service was spot on – attentive without being pushy and the staff already seemed to be established and working well as a team with genuine warmth and friendliness.

I know the this place will go from strength to strength. We can’t wait to visit again and will, I am sure, become regular visitors. Goring is a lovely village and there is lots to do around there. What more could you want? #onetowatch #getinquickbeforetheresawaitinglist #gogalers!” Jo & Ian Smith

Sign up to receive our Newsletter

If you’d like to sign up to our newsletter, please enter your details on the right.

You will receive updates about new dishes on our menu, special events, functions at the Miller, and more.

  • * = required field
  • Size: px x px